IT Filing

As per section 139(1) of the Income Tax Act, 1961 in the country, individuals whose total income during the previous year exceeds the maximum amount not chargeable to tax, should file their income tax returns (ITR).

The process of electronically filing income tax returns is known as e-filing.

Who should e-file income tax returns

  • Assessee with a total income of Rs. 5 Lakhs and above.
  • Individual/HUF resident with assets located outside India.
  • All companies.
  • A person who claims relief under sections 90 or 90A or deductions under section 91.
  • A resident who has signing authority in any account located outside India.
  • An assessee required to furnish returns U/S 139 (4B) (ITR 7).
  • A firm (which does not come under the provisions of section 44AB), AOP, BOI, Artificial Juridical Person, Cooperative Society and Local Authority (ITR 5).
  • Assessee required to give a notice under Section 11(2) (a) to the assessing officer.
  • An assessee required to furnish a report of audit specified under sections 10(23C) (IV), 10(23C) (v), 10(23C) (VI), 10(23C) (via), 10A, 12A (1) (b), 44AB, 80IA, 80IB, 80IC, 80ID, 80JJAA, 80LA, 92E or 115JB of the Act.

The different categories of Income Tax Return (ITR) forms and who they are meant for are tabulated below.

ITR Form Applicable to
ITR 1 / Sahaj Individual, HUF (Residents)
ITR 2 Individual, HUF
ITR 3 Individual or HUF, partner in a Firm
ITR 4 Individual, HUF, Firm
ITR 5 Partnership Firm/ LLP
ITR 6 Company
ITR 7 Trust